The Postcards have arrived!

Photograph of a painted glass kaleidoscope-like piece with broken tempered glass on top of the painted work creating a sparkling effect.

Makes a pretty cool postcard. Dramatic lighting shows up nicely.

So my blog on Photoshop Elements didn’t make it out of Draft phase on March 19. OOOOOOPPPPSSS!

So you get 2 posts in one week. Lucky you!

One of the things I really wanted to get out of my photos of my works was prints I can sell as an inexpensive price point. That’s one of the many reasons I got the Photoshop Elements. I need to make my photos as good as possible.

After months of work and consultations, I finally seem to have found a method to photograph my glass pieces to show off my unique style and make the works looks beautiful. Nothing is as good as seeing them in person, of course, but at least I think I’ve gotten some interesting pics.

After struggling away with Photoshop all last week I came up with a few I thought good enough. On to Vistaprint!  One of my friends and neighbors (a crafter) suggested a visit to Brad’s Deals first for Vistaprint coupons (good advice).

Once on the Vistaprint site it is so easy to upload your work and create a nice-looking postcard. The deal I had was $5 base price (instead of $10) and there were discounts on the color printing and paper quality. The deal was so good, I decided to start with 4 prints (see photos):

This piece makes a lovely, bright, rainbow postcard. The black outline of the frame worked out well on the postcard too. A good postcard for Gay Pride weekend!

This piece makes a lovely, bright, rainbow postcard. The black outline of the frame worked out well on the postcard too. A good postcard for Gay Pride weekend!

This piece turned out  a bit darker on the edges but still really shows the work itself off nicely. You can feel the light passing through the piece and feel the eye looking at you.

This piece turned out a bit darker on the edges but still really shows the work itself off nicely. You can feel the light passing through the piece and feel the eye looking at you.

 

 

A close-up image of the piece that really shows off the diamond-like effect of the broken tempered glass placed piece-by-piece on top of the painted work. Real Rainbow shine.

A close-up image of the piece that really shows off the diamond-like effect of the broken tempered glass placed piece-by-piece on top of the painted work. Real Rainbow shine.

In all, I’d have to say I’m pleased. Showed them to a friend who took one of each and plans to show them to folks. Who knows? Could spark a sale.

Wonder how one of these might look as a giclee print.

 

So this next week is going to be a big one.  I’m going to go out door-to-door to some local gift shops and see if any will carry some of my works. I expect to be able to sell some of my cute little beer-bottle-top necklaces but I’m dubious about the bigger stuff with higher price points.

Some beer bottle necklaces in the kaleidoscope theme:

100_0538

Until next week, my friends. Let me know what your thinking about!

Deb

100_0540

 

 

 

100_0542

Leave a Reply

