Today’s Challenge: Photoshop Elements

Hello all, Oops, this one didn’t get published! I’ll post my new one tomorrow.

Well, until this morning, I was using Google’s Picasa program to edit my photos. It’s free, and pretty nice and easy to use, but it won’t fix camera distortion issues.

To deal with this most economically and to be able to create future videos of my artworks, I purchased Adobe Elements 12 and Adobe Premier 12. I let them install overnight and voila: new program to learn this morning.

Since my focus was straightening out some cock-eyed photos, I started seeking a “parallax” fix or “distortion fix”  button. No such luck. But I found a quick tutorial on Adobe’s site:   http://tv.adobe.com/watch/learn-photoshop-elements-7/perspective-problems/  Even though the video is geared to Elements 7, this feature is still found in the same menu, yay!

It turns out the feature I was seeking was hidden under menus at the TOP of the editing screen. I still don’t quite have the hang of it, but I think I’m seeing improvement. I also have to admit, my photos are looking better in other aspects. See below

Lens distortion issues:

Picture of a glass-on-glass painted mosaic that isn't quite straight in the photo.

Image is not straight and is leaned back against the window. This creates a perspective effect that I don’t want here.

Image after my attempts to straighten it. Still not perfect. Sigh. More work to do.

Image after my attempts to straighten it. Still not perfect. Sigh. More work to do.

But there is improvement in other aspects as well. I think the sharpness and quality of these photos is improved:

This is Picasa clse-up. Beautiful but compare it to the Photoshop close up.

This is Picasa clse-up. Beautiful but compare it to the Photoshop close up.

Second Picasa close up.

Second Picasa close up.

Photoshop close-up.

Photoshop close-up.

In all, a rewarding day. I think it is worth the time investment and financial investment.

Come check out my Etsy Shop https://www.etsy.com/shop/TreeFrogMosaics  and see if you can spot the old Picasa photos versus the new Photoshop ones.

Leave a Reply

